Mayor Simon Boersma

simon boersma

Simon has called Morinville home since 2006, and felt it necessary to live and work in the same community. Simon is from a large farm family and has one married son who lives in Abbotsford, BC. 

Simon was named Morinville Citizen of the Year in 2014 for his involvement in the community and abroad. He served as President of the Morinville & District Chamber of Commerce for five years, from 2012 to 2017. Simon is a philanthropist and is always looking to give his time where needed.  He is a member of the Rotary Club of Morinville, serving as President in 2017 and Rotary District Assistant Governor from July 2018 to July 2021. Simon is an ambassador for Boyle Street, and in 2020,he was instrumental in helping Edmonton residents experiencing homelessness gain access to shower facilities.

Simon's involvement in the building trade brought him to the Modular Housing Industry, and he is the outgoing President of the Modular Housing Association of Prairie Provinces.  He is the co-owner of Pleasant Homes.

His close ties with First Nation residents and friends overseas have taught him about building inclusive communities. Simon is proud to be serving his first term as Mayor and looks forward to connecting with Morinville residents.

Mayor's office hours

Mayor Boersma will be holding regular office hours on Wednesdays from 11:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

Please contact Tracy Reaume, his Executive Assistant, to schedule an appointment. You can also reach her by calling 780-939-7853.

Media requests

For all Council media requests, please email Corporate Communications or call:

  • Office: 780-939-7639
  • Mobile: 587-341-5889

Boards and committees

Mayor Boersma represents the Town of Morinville on these boards and committees:

  • Agricultural Pest Act Control Committee
  • Chief Administrative Officer Recruitment and Evaluation Committee
  • Edmonton Global Shareholder Group
  • Edmonton Metropolitan Regional Board (EMRB)
  • EMRB Committee of the Whole
  • EMRB Regional Governance and Human Resources Committee
  • EMRB Audit and Finance Committee
  • EMRB Dispute Resolution Committee
  • EMRB Growth Plan Five Year Interim Review Task Force
  • Emergency Management Committee
  • Morinville - St. Albert Constituency, Transportation & Infrastructure Committee
  • Morinville/Sturgeon County Intermunicipal Affairs Committee
  • Sturgeon Regional Partnership Committee
  • Weed Control Act Appeal Committee
  • Also “ex officio” member of all other Town of Morinville Committees

Expense claims

Council Expense Reports are posted quarterly.